HOME

 

Email us

 

rss feed

San Ramon Valley Newcomers Club

Hiking, Arts & Crafts, Wine Club, Book Club, Cooking, Golf, Poker, Bridge, Bunco, Luncheons

Hiking Indian Creek Trail to Kovar Trail

Hi Newcomer Friday Hikers and Guests, Last Friday, April 11th, we hiked at Shell Ridge. We hiked up Indian Creek Trail to Kovar Trail and then along the Ridge with views from either side and quite a few wildflowers along the way. Then Ridge is interesting for the shells that embedded in the rock, a seabed many thousand of years ago. We saw several beautiful bright blue penstemon flowers as we started on the steep path. After the ridge we continue eastward along Indian Creek Trail and then back to our cars. By the end of our hike they day had warmed and we were greeted by a field of california poppies. Muff took my photo. I guess I was so intoxicated by the flowers that I forgot to take the group photo and no one pointed it out to me! Hikers were Carol, Muff, Claudia, Bobbi, Rose, Jeanne, Lois, Linda and Sharon. We hiked 3.75 miles in about 1 hr. 50 min. Happy Trails, Sharon

Hiking-Indian-Creek-Trail-to-Kovar-Trail

NEWCOMER HIKE INSPIRATION POINT

On March 28 since the trails were still on the wet side due to recent rains we hiked our on the paved trail out from Inspiration Point in Tilden Park. The hills were deep green and from the paved trail we could see views of the city, Briones reservoir plus quite a few wild flowers including mallows just starting to open and lots of California poppies. It seems to be the year of the poppy as they are so abundant. We hiked a total of 5 1/2 miles in a little less than two hours. Because we had less than 300 ft elevation gain we hiked this at about 2.8 miles per hour.

We enjoyed a view of the city from a well placed bench. We hiked to the end of the paved trail before turning left and then to the gate before returning. It was a beautiful day with no rain.Afterwards we were met at Bagel Street Cafe by Barbara and her cute dog Molly. We missed celebrating Fran and Pat’s birthday’s which were both on Thursday but just wanted to let them know we were thinking of them and we haven’t forgotten. HAPPY BIRTHDAY FRAN AND PAT! Thank you to our drivers Charlene and Claudia. Happy Trails, Sharon

PS Remember our picnic is April 25th

Bobbi, Charlene, Jeanne, Muff, Shirley, Claudia, and Carol

NEWCOMER-HIKE-INSPIRATION-POINT

 

Newcomer Hike Mitchell Rock Back Creek Loop

Today was an interesting day. We got off to a slow start when our leader directed us to our trail off of Hwy 4. Problem was it was off of Ygnacio Valley Rd. After 15 miles going in the wrong direction and seeing signs to Stockton she finally admitted we were going the wrong way. Thanks to Navigation systems we were able to get back on the right route, Mitchell Canyon Road, and we started our hike 45 minutes late. Everyone was still in good humor. It’s a great group of women! We first headed up to Mitchell Rock, giving us a good aerobic work out as we ascended about 500 ft. We then returned on the same trail and onto Coulter Pine Trail where we headed over to Back Creek Canyon. Along the way we saw many yellow violets. On our hike today we saw several small snakes, some turkeys, lizards, and heard a lot of birds singing. We saw a lot of miniature lupine along Back Creek Trail. We returned on Murchio Rd and then Bruce Lee Rd to our cars. `We hiked a total of 4 1/4 mile in a little under 2 hours. Hikers today were Bobbi, Charlene, Jeanne, Claudia, Linda (welcome back!), Rose, and Sharon. Thanks for all your patience and a special BIG THANKS to our drivers Charlene and Bobbi who drove us on our wild goose chase.   Sharon

Newcomer-Hike-Mitchell-Rock-Back-Creek-Loop

Crow Canyon Country Club April Luncheon

APRIL LUNCHEON

Where: The Crow Canyon Country Club, 711 Silver Lake Drive, Danville
When: Thursday, April 17th, 2014
Time: 11:30 AM Social; 12:00 Noon Luncheon

April Luncheon Flyer

April Book – Look Me in the Eye

Look Me in the Eye – April Book Club

When: April 22 – Tuesday
Time: 1:00- 3:00
Where: Carol F.
RSVP: by April 21
Our book will be Look Me in the Eye by John Elder Robison.

Look Me in the Eye describes how Robison grew up as a misfit in the 1960s, at a time when the Asperger syndrome diagnosis did not exist in the United States. The book describes how Robison learns to fit in, without actually knowing why he was different. His situation was made even more complicated at times by his neglectful and abusive father and a somewhat crazed mother. After dropping out of school, he had a sudden fascination with sound engineering and electronics.[1] His strong interest led to unusual career choices, including time with Pink Floyd’s sound company, making special effects for the band Kiss, designing electronic games and toys for Milton Bradley, and starting his own business repairing and restoring expensive cars. Robison finally learned about Asperger syndrome in 1996, at age 39, and his life was transformed by the knowledge.

Help for Struggling Students

New Site for Parents of Struggling Students

help for struggling studentsJohn Harper who helps maintain our site and post all of our events and photos is part of a team that has launched a new site devoted to helping parents and grandparents of students who struggle in school. A book and may videos are available on the OptiKodes Academy website.

Franklin Hills Hike

Had a lovely hike to the Throne in the Franklin Hills. This is in the hills behind the Muir home. Jackie was our Queen for the day on the throne and surrounded by her court. In the last photo you can see Mt. Diablo in the background.

Trekking Always, Fran

March Luncheon @ Faz

MARCH LUNCHEON
Where: Faz Restaurant, 600 Hartz Avenue, Danville
When: Thursday, March 20, 2014
Time: 11:30 AM Social; 12:00 Noon Luncheon

See March 2014 Luncheon Flyer>>

Book Club – The Memory of Love

When:   Mar. 25 Tuesday

Time:    1:00- 3:00

Where:  Judy S.

RSVP:  Judy by Monday, Mar. 24

Our book will be The Memory of Love by Linda Olson.  Fans of Astrid & Veronika and Chris Cleave’s Little Bee will be thrilled to read Linda Olsson’s third novel. Here is Olsson doing what she does best: illuminating the terrain of friendship and examining the many forms that love can take.

We welcome new members so think about attending one of our meetings.  If you have any questions (except to RSVP), please call the Chairperson, Suzanne Z.

Rockridge Hills Temescal Lake Hike

Wonderful hike in the Rockridge hills and Temescal lake today. This is part of the water fall behind the Beach Hall at the lake. Hard a good view in hills by the large, beautiful homes of the new bridge.

rockridge-Hills-Temescal-Lake-Hike

Next entries »